The ultimate showdown: Crutches vs. wheelchair vs. knee scooter

After spending two and a half days on crutches, I was pretty miserable. Using crutches for a few minutes at first was easy. Using them all day to do anything at all was incredibly draining. These just aren’t muscles that your body is used to using — and I was getting exhausted quickly.

Even though I thought I might be able to get my insurance to cover a wheelchair or knee scooter, I couldn’t wait to deal with the red tape. I needed to gain some mobility and freedom back immediately as I was just spiraling into despair and helplessness. My wheeling desk chair did help me out, but it didn’t roll that well and it wasn’t an ideal situation. As someone who lives alone, I needed to feel like I could live my life a bit.

I found a place that rented knee scooters for $70 a month and wheelchairs for $50 and struggled my way over there and back, but I did it. (I had to ask some neighbors who were strangers to help me get the wheelchair out of my car and into my apartment. That was embarrassing and I cried, but once I had my new devices in my apartment, I felt so much better — less helpless and more independent.)

So, should you use crutches, a knee scooter or a wheelchair when recovering with a broken foot? Here is my comparison of the three modes of mobility when dealing with a broken fifth metatarsal:

banner vs

Pros Cons Rank
Crutches + You’ll probably get them for free when you break your foot.

+ They can travel with you in the car easily.

+ You actually expend some energy, build strength and get your blood flowing with these. It’s not being sedentary.

So slow. You just hobble along at a snail’s pace and 10 feet feels so far. Hard for me to get into a good rhythm to move at a quicker pace.

Exhausting. You get a work out, which is a plus for a short period of time, but not to use all the time. Personally my upper body gets spent if I use them for too long.

#3 – last resort or for brief travel
Knee scooter + Good support for the foot, and if you need to dismount, you can lock it in place and use it for balance.

+ You’re in a stand-up position, which means you can do dishes, wash your hands, brush your teeth or prepare food on your counter very easily.

+ Pretty fast. You should be careful because this thing goes fast enough that you could wipe out.

+ If you’re going out and don’t want to use crutches, this will be easier to travel with than a wheelchair, as long as you have the trunk space and maybe a friend to help. You also get to be at standing level, which looks and feels better when you’re out.

This was the most expensive item on the list.

This is the biggest one: It turns, but it’s more like driving a car – you need to do a three-point (or five-point) turn to change directions in tight spaces. I live in a smaller apartment with many tight turns and corners, and it makes the knee scooter tough to use.

I think the way your foot dangles off the edge, especially whilst wearing a heavy walking boot, feels weird, personally.

Although it folds, it’s still not easy to take with you if you’re traveling unless you have some friends to help you load it into a trunk that is big enough. It’s a little heavy and the shape is bulky.

 

#2 – not bad
Wheelchair + The ultimate freedom for moving around. I can use my hands to wheel around and carry stuff on my lap, or I can carry stuff in my hands and use my feet to push or pull me in the direction I want to go. (Yes, I can use the heel of my bad foot in the boot, but I can also drive it one-footed with my good foot. I took the foot rests off my wheelchair.)

+ Great in tight spaces, like a bathroom. You can spin around in place without needing a lot of space. Good for maneuvering around my tight kitchen that has an island. Sometimes I spin around in a circle just for fun.

+ Eliminates the need to constantly be transferring to other places to sit. I set my office chair aside and now I just roll up to my desk in my wheelchair instead of transferring back and forth.

+ This has to be said: It’s a lot easier to transfer to a low toilet seat from the wheelchair than the other devices, because you’re already low. Locks in place to provide balance.

You truly feel like a disabled person in one of these, and it’s slightly depressing.

I’ve ordered a lot of food delivery, and I think when they see me in a wheelchair, they quietly react with pity or surprise or something. Maybe I am projecting. I’ve started standing to answer the door.

You definitely can’t travel with this easily. Although it folds up, it’s still pretty big and heavy – heavier than the knee scooter.

Being low is a plus when you need to switch over the toilet, but a minus for things like reaching your counter top or inside your fridge. I generally have to park, lock into the place and stand.

#1 – your best bet

I got both the knee scooter and the wheelchair because I reached a point where I was totally willing to throw money at my problems. I was surprised to see that the wheelchair turned out to be way more functional and all around better, given that the knee scooter cost more and I see it recommended all the time.

If you could only pick one, I’d go with the wheelchair. I’ve done dishes and cooking with the knee scooter, but you can also just roll up and park your wheelchair and then stand. The knee scooter makes you feel a little less disabled and less helpless, but the fact that it is difficult to turn in tight spaces makes it frustrating to use.

I’d return the knee scooter to the medical supply place and save some money, but my apartment’s ADA compliance sucks. This building has heavy doors that slam shut on their own with no way to prop them open and no buttons to open them remotely, and I have to go through several just to get to my car. I’ll just waste $70+ I guess. (One thing using all of these crutches, knee scooter and wheelchair has taught me is that even despite the ADA, the world is just not designed for people with disabilities. Credit to the folks who put up with it — it’s really a shame how little thought is apparently put into it.)

If unlike me, you’re gonna be going out and traveling more, you may want the knee scooter. But I work from home and am staying put, so for me the wheelchair is the clear winner. The knee scooter has been untouched and I use the crutches when I go to the doctor.

6 thoughts on “The ultimate showdown: Crutches vs. wheelchair vs. knee scooter

  1. Thanks for the interesting read about crutches, knee scooters, and wheelchairs. I didn’t know that a knee scooter has good support for the foot while also being able to lock in place. Perhaps it could be a good option if you still want to walk a bit and can use your other leg well.

    Like

    1. Sorry I missed this. I would say the knee scooter is probably the best option if you are going out and find the crutches too slow or too exhausting. After my foot healed, I happened to see a guy in my apartment building cruising around on a knee scooter with a cast on his foot. I’m into sports and see a lot of athletes using knee scooters when they are out on social media too. I just didn’t go out much because, I can’t explain it, but I felt a little embarrassed I couldn’t walk and I found it difficult navigating all the curbs and bumps in the road. I didn’t want to have to ask anyone to help me either. You do have to push off with your good foot on the knee scooter, but it’s definitely not like walking – more like riding a bike without pedals with one foot.

      The wheelchair was the easiest to use in my apartment because it handled tight turns and corners the best. I could also just roll right up to my desk (since I work from home) so it was just easy. I found crutches really difficult and I guess I have the upper body strength of a noodle.

      Like

  2. Donna Wojdacz

    I am using a scooter after having reconstructive surgery on Achilles tendon and totally agree with the difficulty in turning, and I live in a spacious home. It is exhausting when transferring from chair to scooter. Once I can put some weight on my foot that won’t be such an issue. My main problem is that I have fallen off it multiple times, mainly trying to turn it. I’m older, so not so coordinated as others perhaps but it is a real danger.

    Like

    1. June

      I agree that a wheelchair is the best for getting around the house and carrying things. Differently to you however I also find I can cook and wash up etc whilst sitting in the chair so no problems. Where I live,NSW Australia if you have been in a public hospital, there is a service that comes to your home for 6 weeks and helps with shopping and housework . Sometimes they don’t offer it so you have to be in the know. I am over 60 do gave the 12 week service which comes with equipment hire as well and I pay $75 a week. That includes a lady coming 1 1/2 hours three days a week, hire of a motorised scooter (the best thing ever for going about town), a wheelchair, bath seat, toilet raiser and also a physio who attends my home and has loaned me weights etc, the occupational therapist went to my home before I left hospital and set it all up for me and was there when I came home to settle me in and see how I was able to use everything. The wheelchair and the motor scooter are the best things ever and i am very independent because of them. I could go to work as I am not too far away for the scooter but have enough sick leave to stay home and rest. I am still NWB but only have four days till review. The scooter has stopped me from getting cabin fever and I get out on it every second day, cruising around the streets and down the aisles of the supermarket.

      Like

  3. So glad I found this blog. I am one month out of surgery of a very similar break that had a bit more deformity than yours. I opted for forearm crutches which are also exhausting, but you can move faster after a while and they are by far the least cumbersome to travel with. That being said I’m pretty sure there’s some physics equation that ensures all crutches clatter to the ground akimbo despite being wedged in the most secure of positions when you’re not using them.

    Like

Leave a comment