Today I learned I may have been eating things that are bad for bone healing

The general disappointment to see that my four-week X-ray wasn’t showing much progress got me on a googling spree today. I looked a little harder at what is good for bone healing and what is bad.

First, the things I already knew:

  • NSAIDs, like ibuprofen, aspirin and naproxen inhibit the healing process because they block the production of prostaglandins, which apparently help bone growth. That was a bummer when I had a PMS migraine. I refused to take anything for it. The problem? Sometimes to sleep, I was taking Advil PM, which has ibuprofen in it, and I wasn’t thinking about it. Oops.
  • Smoking delays bone healing. I’m not sure why exactly, but I would think maybe reduced oxygen and blood flow to the bone. (I googled it, and scientists aren’t sure why either.) Luckily, I don’t smoke.
  • Alcohol also delays bone healing. I’m also not sure why, but maybe malabsorption of nutrients you need. (I googled it and it much more scientific than that, apparently.) I have resisted my urge to drink to pass the slow-moving time whilst unable to walk.
  • A number of minerals are important, like silicon, boron and some others that I honestly didn’t know people ate or needed, but came up when googling. I take a lot of them in a multi-vitamin.

Now, things I didn’t know prevent your body from absorbing calcium:

  • Caffeine. It inhibits your body’s ability to absorb calcium and there’s no ifs or maybes about it — scientists know that 6 milligrams of calcium is lost for every 100 milligrams of caffeine. Crap, how many milligrams of caffeine is in my morning coffee?! I thought I was doing good by putting milk in my coffee. Wrong!
  • Some beans, including pinto. They have something called phytates, which bind to calcium so you can’t absorb it. Well, this is a problem since I eat beans every single day as a vegetarian.
  • Salt. It causes calcium to be excreted through the kidneys. It also happens to make everything taste good, which means I’m screwed.
  • Raw spinach. I was eating salads with raw spinach, red onion, avocado and lime juice because I thought they were super healthy for me. It turns out that spinach does itself contain a lot of calcium, but it contains oxalates, which can bind up the calcium. Lovely.

(edit: Apparently Vitamin D deficiency can prevent absorption of calcium too. Wish my doctor had mentioned that sooner.)

So what am I going to do about it? I can cut out coffee, but never eating beans, salt, or any foods that maybe unbeknownst to me bind to calcium isn’t really reasonable. I should just expect all the calcium I eat isn’t getting to my bones.

So here is my solution for now:

  • Calcium supplements. I already take a Centrum multi-vitamin that includes things I know I need, like calcium, silicon, boron, vitamin D, etc. But it only contains 20% of your daily value of calcium, probably because people normally get the other 80% in a normal diet. With this broken bone, I’d rather get extra, even though from what I’ve read, science is a little mixed on how effective calcium supplements are at healing broken bones.
  • L-Lysine. This apparently helps your body absorb calcium. I found at least one study that showed patients who took L-Lysine (along with some other supplement I googled that looked weird to me) sped up their bone healing by two weeks. I’m not equipped to judge whether the study was a good one, but apparently it’s a known fact that Lysine is used by the body to make collagen. This seems important because from what I’ve read, collagen forms a callus at the fracture site as part of the bone healing process. Better late than never, I suppose.
  • Zzzquil. Now I can get to sleep without taking an NSAID along with it.

(edit: Also, Vitamin D supplements.)

I feel a bit like a dummy. I followed some of the research regarding bone healing well for a whole month, but other things I just ignored. I do hope “better late than never” applies here. My calcium supplements and L-Lysine will be delivered to my door within two days.

3 thoughts on “Today I learned I may have been eating things that are bad for bone healing

  1. Tracey

    Hi Brokenjules, I’m from the UK. Thank you for your posts about your 5th metatarsal and your progress. It’s good to have someone else share what I believe is a tough time. I too broke mine in 2 places on 3rd October. At first I thought it was just badly sprained but after 2 days of dragging my right foot around and a lot of pain, I went to my local hospital and an x-Ray confirmed the breaks. I was put in a foot cast and the consultant wanted to see me the following Friday. He wanted to do surgery to screw it but I refused. He said to go back in 2 weeks which I did and the x-Ray looked exactly the same. I was told to maintain the cast for now and continue to non weight bear to allow it to heal. I go back 13th November & am praying for some progress. Psychologically it’s hard going: I am usually very active and as a a single parent with limited help it’s tough. Presently my boss is ok and has allowed me to do some work from home as usually would not get paid but how long this can confinue I don’t know. I can’t wait for this wretched foot to heal and going around on crutches is lethal – I have fallen twice on them and it’s a miracle I didn’t do further damage. These things are sent to try us! TJ.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment Tracey. I agree that psychologically, it’s difficult. I can’t decide whether the physical limitations or the mental toll is harder to deal with, but I take comfort in knowing I will be able to walk again someday. That’s what is getting me through this. It’s hard to not see progress on the X-ray, but from what I’ve read, it’s not that unusual for the healing to just kind of show up all at once at the ending of the recovery period. I’m hoping that healing is happening, even if we can’t see it on an X-ray. My doctor and the physician’s assistant assured me everything is going normally right now. I’d love to hear an update after you see the doctor again. I’ll be back to see my doctor next week again.

      Take care, and if the crutches are hard to navigate, you may want to consider a knee scooter or a wheel chair. I go into detail here. Cheers!

      Like

      1. Tracey

        Thank you very much for your comments about the x-Ray: I must admit to being quite worried about it. I still have aches and pains and not sure whether it’s a healing pain or not …? I will let you know what the doctors say after my appointment on 13th November. Also thank you for advice on wheelchair etc – I will look ino that. Take care, Tracey

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment