Three-year retrospective: What should you know about your broken foot?

I made this blog in 2015 when I broke my foot and was depressed about it. I worried and agonized about its progress every single day, and I stressed about every decision.

Looking through my posts, I can say I now feel differently about some things than I did at the time, and the extra three years has given me a better perspective. So, I thought it would be a good idea to do a broad post with my overall takeaways from the experience:

Stop worrying about the x-ray!

I never at any point got to see an x-ray with my bone filled in where it broke. At most, I saw some vague cloudiness that wasn’t even very dark, but never any visual evidence the bone had grown back and filled in. The x-ray looked the same weeks apart.

Instead, the moment it was clear that progress was being made came in Week 6. My (new) doctor wiggled my baby toe gently and it didn’t hurt. The metatarsal connected to my baby toe seemed to move together as a unit. He pressed and kneaded around my foot and the bone, and that didn’t hurt either. My doctor said that means soft tissue had filled in and, effectively, it meant it was healed.

When I told him I hadn’t been walking, his face told me he was surprised I waited so long. I was admittedly scared to walk, but I also felt I was following my other doctor’s orders. So, he told me to start walking in my boot without any crutches.

Keep in mind: By that point, the x-ray didn’t even show any cloudiness. To me, my foot was still “broken.” But in actuality I was pretty much healed and needed to start walking. I didn’t know it, but that was the turning point. That’s when I should’ve felt good about where things stood, but I was too focused on the bone growing back.

It won’t last forever so find a way to make the most of it

I remember being so depressed.

I couldn’t really leave my house because it was too difficult and I felt like an idiot. I lived alone and I didn’t want to ask anyone for help. There was an overwhelming feeling of helplessness that would come and go in waves.

I was especially bummed out that a trip I planned with my mom had to be canceled. There was a big championship game I wanted to attend that I couldn’t. There was just stuff I was missing out on.

But now when I think about it, a few weeks is really a blip in the grand scheme of things. It’s hard to not let it get to you – especially because you don’t know how it’s going to turn out – but in retrospect I almost feel like I overreacted.

There were some silver linings – things I discovered that have improved my life in some way or have been useful even after I could walk again:

  • I tried Lyft because I needed a ride to the doctor. I had been using traditional cabs and going through a taxi dispatcher and it was a mess. The final straw was when I stood outside my doctor’s office on one foot for a half hour because the dispatcher kept insisting a cab would be there soon. I gave Lyft a try and it was so easy and fast. Lyft allowed me to get rid of my car when my lease ended and I still use it constantly.
  • I joined Netflix when I broke my foot and I’ve been a subscriber ever since. There are so many great shows you can use to pass the time – I highly recommend it. I don’t binge like I did when my foot was broken, but I still use it frequently.
  • I tried Hello Fresh and other similar services. They may not be cost-effective for everyone, but for me they are and I’ve been using Hello Fresh ever since. I choose which deliveries to get and I probably get around one or two per month. It’s really expanded my culinary horizons and I’ve re-created many of the recipes I’ve discovered through Hello Fresh.
  • Even trying out Instacart was cool because now when I want a bunch of heavy items, like cases of water, I am comfortable using Instacart because I no longer have a car. I still love using Caviar for dinner delivery.

Sitting around might pack on some pounds

Frankly, I didn’t worry about my diet when I was recovering from my broken foot. All I fixated on was getting my bone the nutrients and vitamins it needed to heal. My diet has never been that healthy and I’ve never paid close attention to what I eat, despite being a vegetarian, so that was nothing new.

But being sedentary definitely had an effect on me.

I didn’t go out much because, wrong or right, I was embarrassed I couldn’t walk and I struggled to get around curbs and steps. It was a hassle and I didn’t want to ask anyone for help, so I basically stayed home in my sweatpants, which was fine because I work from home anyway. Well, let me tell you, when I finally could walk again and put on my jeans to go out for the first time in weeks, they felt tight.

When I went “home” for the holidays to hang out with my family, I made it a running joke how much weight I had gained. Based on my doctor weigh-ins before I broke my foot and at the end, I was able to see how much it was – I can’t remember but I would guess 10 to 15 pounds. Some jeans fit tight, some jeans I couldn’t wear at all anymore.

After the holidays, I bought a used Precor elliptical machine for my apartment and ate about 1200 calories per day. I had a post-it note stuck to my mirror in front of my scale and weighed myself daily. My weight steadily trended downward and it took a several weeks to drop back to what it was before (I don’t remember exactly), but I did it.

I did discover my plantar fasciitis when I was using the elliptical machine. It was a big hassle, it was painful and it has reared its ugly head in the three years since at times. But using Dr Scholls sole inserts did fix it relatively quickly. Whenever it’s come back, I just start using the inserts again. (I have found using the inserts when I don’t need them can induce problems too.)

It hasn’t really affected me since I got back to “normal”

I’ve done a couple posts about this already, so I won’t repeat myself. Go check out my most recent posts.

The bottom line is that other than the plantar fasciitis or lack of balance on my right foot, it mostly isn’t something that has affected me in any significant way. Sure, when I walk barefoot I do still feel a tinge of pain sometimes, but it’s so minor – if I had never broken my foot, I wouldn’t notice it.

Unless you suffer some unusual complications, like a non-union, or you have some other underlying issues, I think it’s a good bet that you’re gonna heal fine and never worry about this again.

So, I guess what I am trying to say is: Don’t worry too much. You’ll be back to normal sooner rather than later.

18 thoughts on “Three-year retrospective: What should you know about your broken foot?

  1. Karen Alexander

    Your blog got me through my metatarsal break. I read it over and over. It’s now 4 1/2 months and I’m feeling almost normal. Thank you so much

    Karen from West Palm Beach

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so wonderful to hear! I’m certainly no expert or doctor, but if I can help someone feel less scared and alone, then that’s great! Writing the blog helped me get through it too. 🙂

      Like

  2. valerie

    Hi I just found your blog & am also relieved to know your experience. I broke the 5th metatarsal 9 weeks ago, and today’s xray is not showing signs of healing or union either. Promising that there was not as much sensitivity when he felt around the area, compared to 3 weeks ago the same touch made me cringe. Dr. reminds me that surgery may still be necessary if it doesnt heal, but he is being conservative, which I appreciate. Feels like I’ve lost the whole summer, but trying to remain positive, knowing there are certainly worse things than a broken foot! Being sedentary is the worst part, and I too am trying hard not to add on any extra weight. Your blog gives me hope that even if there’s no obvious signs of calcification, maybe it is actually healing. Just hoping to get back to hiking the trails 🙂

    Valerie from NJ

    Like

    1. If you don’t feel any pain when pressing on the area, I would guess it’s being filled in with soft tissue. I think it takes a while for bone to appear. I did get an x-ray after the 9-week point myself that wasn’t filled in. I didn’t take a picture or post it on the blog because, quite frankly, I was over the whole thing and no longer worried about it. I was walking totally normally by that point. Can you grab your baby toe and wiggle it and see any indication the metatarsal bone is moving in your foot? Can you do that without it hurting? Because it may be healed.

      Like

  3. 3 weeks ago on Thursday, I broke my fifth metatarsal. I’m a vegan and it’s nice to see someone with the same experience.
    I’m a hairdresser, so I have to walk a lot and have never used crutches. Because of the blog, I paid more attention to calcium and stopped taking Advil. (I still have it and will totally take it if I have to.)
    Thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

    1. Good luck! At 3 weeks in, you should be backing to walking normal pretty soon… the worst of it is over!

      P.S. Is your breakage story better than mine, which was missing a stair in my apartment? 😉

      Like

      1. I jogged off a high curb, landed on the outside of my foot, and twisted my ankle. I actually thought I felt two pops on the way down. but luckily didn’t hurt anything else.

        Like

      2. That sounds painful. It’s so weird how you can step wrong and break something in your body. I was barefoot and I’d like to think if I were wearing a shoe it wouldn’t have happened, but who knows. I moved to an apartment without any stairs though, lol.

        Like

  4. Angie

    Thank you for sharing your experience. I am 6 weeks post break with no visible changes on the X-ray. (Cue tears in the doctor’s office). Today my doctor pressed on the foot/break with no pain and he said that was a good sign. It helps me stay positive and put things in perspective reading your blog.

    Like

  5. Hello!

    I broke my metatarsal 10 days ago, and my X-Ray looks very similar to yours. I am so glad that I stumble upon your blog, it is so helpful to me. I wear Air-cast, it drives me crazy, but it is better than splint that I got in the emergency room. I have a question : did you massage your legs, like below the knee? I do not touch anything below the ankle.Massage feels pleasant, but I do not want make the things worse. Sorry, I did not read the whole blog yet, maybe there is answer somewhere in there. So, did you try massage?

    Please let me know,
    Thank you,

    Sophia

    Like

    1. I guess I forgot to respond to them. I would rub the break area a little bit because I told myself I was helping to get the blood flowing to the area so it could build new bone, but I think if you’re an otherwise healthy person, nature will probably do it’s thing. I generally left my foot alone because, particularly early on, it hurt if I touched it. If you enjoy massages, I’m sure it’s fine!

      Like

  6. Nighat Saeed

    i have gone through exactly the same experience with an oblique 5th metatarsal fracture. Infact looking at your xrays, I felt they were mine. I twisted my foot on December 5, 2018. The first orthopaedic doctor didn’t think it was a big deal and that i could wear joggers and walk on the heal of my injured right foot. However I also wore an aircast walking boot for a couple of weeks. At four weeks, then again at six weeks, as well as ten weeks my xray looked the same. So, i was advised surgery! Luckily another surgeon felt my foot and said that it had ‘clinically healed’…..what a relief that was! Now I am relearning to walk without a limp!

    Your story gave me a lot of hope….thanks for sharing!

    Nighat Saeed

    Like

  7. I broke mine about 4 weeks back, and I have been so depressed since. I just started a new job, and i am scared that I will lose it as I have been staying and working from home. I have a few trips planned with my fiance, and not being able to go with him makes me feel very sad as he will be going on his own. My X-rays are also not showing any signs of healing, and I am very worried. I am so glad for your blog post. Can you advise when did you start walking again? or walking without crutches? I’m losing my muscles in the leg i fractured and I am quite scared.

    Like

    1. All the answers to your questions are in my other blog posts. Long story short: the x-ray didn’t show my bone growing back but it healed fine. I was fully walking again within six weeks.

      Like

  8. Sab

    Stumbled upon this blog after looking up 5th metatarsal fracture healing times for consecutive hours… This helps out a lot, and almost answered every question I needed! I’m almost on week 8, and was told to start partial weight bearing at week 6 but still a bit hesitant and scared… Did your foot swell and was a bit painful at all when you introduced partial walking on your broken foot? I’m going to see the orthopaedic surgeon at week 11, and he indicated if there’s no bone growth on the x-ray than surgery is the next step :/

    Like

    1. Nighat Saeed

      I had the same problem too and two orthopaedic surgeons suggested that surgery was the only option as the X-rays showed no healing after 12 weeks.
      Finally a third orthopaedic surgeon said that soft tissue was growing and no need for surgery! What a relief that was!

      Like

  9. Mike

    Six week follow up for 3 mm avulsion metatarsal coming up. Four week follow up showed no progress but also it didn’t get worse. Hoping through all the past blogs that healing will still be present without much visibility on the xrays. Pinching pain on my heel when I put weight on it which seems like plantar fasciitis as others reported.
    Hoping for the best at six week f/u

    Like

  10. Rachel

    Thank you for this blog! I can see it’s helped others like me since you wrote it. I’m 8.5 weeks post break and today’s X-ray looks as bad as the first. I just started driving last week and thought it was pretty good again but the X-ray has me in fear of needing surgery. Doctors visit to get actual report of the X-ray in 2 days. Hopefully I just need a bit more healing time. As a mum if 3 and a house full of stairs I need this to be over..

    Like

Leave a comment