Week 11 check-in: Almost back to normal. Almost.

Wow, I just looked at the calendar to title this blog post and notice it’s been more than 11 weeks since I broke my fifth metatarsal. That’s nearly three months and only now am I starting to feel normal.

Unfortunately, it’s still just “almost.” I definitely still don’t feel the way I did before I broke my foot, which is unfortunate.

I didn’t buy any special stiff-soled shoes because I decided my usual New Balance 574 sneakers were firm enough. The sole doesn’t flex much, and the top of the toe is soft and not very protective, but I’m not walking around that much.

At first, slipping my foot into the shoe wasn’t totally comfortable because of the way I needed to bend it. But I’ve been able to do it for the past several days fine, which makes driving and getting around so much easier.

I generally just walk around barefoot or in socks when I am home now. I don’t really need my Aircast, but I am getting on a plane in a couple days so I will probably just travel with the Aircast to protect my foot.

As for the foot itself, it definitely does not feel 100% normal. Walking is still stiff and I have a limp. I feel normal enough to dance in my apartment while I’m cleaning up, for instance, but when I shift all my weight to my right foot, it does feel a bit weaker.

I am seeing a podiatrist in a little over a week, who I am going to ask about exercises or physical therapy I can do to get my normal gait back.I know that orthopedic doctors are recommended, but the fracture at this point is nearly healed, so I’m hoping the foot doctor can help me with the mechanics of using my foot.

It’s a little frustrating that I am still not completely feeling normal yet — for instance, I can’t really run yet. My foot just feels too stiff, there’s no spring to my step. Also, on my broken foot, my big toe is sticking out and there’s a gap in between my toes that was never there. I assume that happened because that side of my foot was supporting more of my weight. I’m hoping a podiatrist can help.

I also expect I will get an X-ray when I go back to the doctor, and I look forward to seeing if the bone has filled in some more. The orthopedic doctors told me it could be a while before the bone is completely filled in, but I do hope to see additional progress.

I am planning to get rid of my car in the next five weeks and go to strictly walking and using public transportation, so I’m really that will be enough time to get back to 100%. I also weighed myself today for the first time since I broke my foot and… yeah, not walking for several weeks definitely helped me pack on some extra pounds, so I’m looking forward to being more active too. Fingers crossed!

One thought on “Week 11 check-in: Almost back to normal. Almost.

  1. Tracey

    Hi brokenjules, it’s really good to hear that you are progressing so well and no longer need crutches or the aircast – I know how frustrated you must be about not feeling 100% ‘normal’, as I am feeling exactly the same too. Wow, and to think you are also managing to have a little dance – that’s amazing! I’m not quite there yet..!

    After practising driving short journeys for a few days I went back to work last Monday (14th). I was very nervous about driving as the journey can take anything up to an hour depending on the traffic. Thankfully I only work two days part-time so I had a break in-between and also worked the Wednesday. I wore my hard soled trainers that I already own as they are in pretty good condition. I also took my slippers into work (checked it was ok with the boss) – how embarrassing! On my injured foot I could not do the laces up because my foot is still quite swollen, especially around the ankle so I took the laces out altogether. My foot just about managed to squeeze into them without it hurting.

    During the past week I have also experienced the swelling going up my leg so was a bit worried but in the last couple of days that seems to have settled down, but my foot and ankle still suffer from swelling and stiffness. However all in all it is much better, much improved and I’m so grateful that I can at last put my foot on the ground and walk on it without it killing me – it’s wonderful! That milestone means so much as it really was hurting so much as I could not put my foot down on the ground at all until very recently.

    When I arrived at work I put on the aircast, however I found that this seemed to encourage the `stiffness’ in my foot and I got even more swelling. So for the past few days I haven’t worn my aircast boot at all, no longer use crutches and I either go bare footed (with socks on) or when I leave the house I wear my hard soled trainers. I think I’m doing quite well but I do have a bit of a limp due to the stiffness. Also if I have been walking on it for too long I find it aches very much and I need to rest up. I am convinced that this will resolve itself in due course but may take some time – weeks or even possibly months. My back and other parts of my body have also ached and felt sore – I think this may be due to the wearing of the cast, the aircast boot and the use of crutches which affects posture and puts pressure on other muscles and joints in the body.

    My next appointment is with the consultant on 8th January. I’m not sure whether they will take another x-ray, but I hope so as it would be so nice to see if the bone is healing at last. Every x-ray taken so far has shown it broken so it would be good to see it healed. If my foot is still swollen and stiff, I’m wondering whether they will also recommend some kind of physio to help manipulate the foot. I am exercising it gently when seated but don’t want to overdo it in case I cause damage and set healing back.

    I look forward to hearing about your next appointment – I hope it all goes well for you and that 2016 is a much better year when life will return back to `normal’ in due course. I wish you a safe flight (I hope your foot doesn’t swell!) and wish you a very happy Christmas with your family. Tracey 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment