Four week X-ray: Looks basically the same. :(

First, the good news: When I hurt my broken bone by bending my foot really hard, I didn’t displace the bone further or do any damage that is visible from an X-ray. Phew.

Now, the bad news: My X-Ray looks basically the same as it did when I first broke my foot. Gahhh. I was hoping at four weeks and a couple days, a callus would be visible around the break or something. But it actually looks mostly the same.

I couldn’t see a doctor after my little painful mishap, so I saw his physician’s assistant. The assistant said he thought it looked like my fracture site is healing, but I really don’t see much. It’s also hard to tell because the angle of the X-ray is slightly different each time.

four week
Left is the most recent X-ray. Right is an X-ray from two weeks ago.

He said I should still follow the doctor’s orders to put some weight on my foot this week, but let pain be my guide. These are slow-healing breaks, he said. Sigh.

I know I am fortunate because this is a temporary issue and some people have accidents and never walk again… Some people are born unable to walk… I could’ve also cracked my skull open instead of just my foot. I need to keep a positive perspective.

…But, this is getting depressing. I can’t do anything myself. I get my groceries delivered and take cabs. I generally am sedentary now and I get very little natural sunlight. I feel gross and helpless, and yet I’m only halfway through this. It’s just taking a mental toll.

7 thoughts on “Four week X-ray: Looks basically the same. :(

  1. Sheila

    I’m sure this is all behind you now. I just started the journey last week with a broken 5th metatarsal. I can completely sympathise with you and feeling gross and helpless. I am kind of a hyper person and just sitting watching TV or on the internet is such a wasteful feeling. Next week I will get it x-rayed again and I hope they tell me I can put a little weight on it. THANK the Lord for knee scooters. Whoever invented them should be a millionaire! Anyway, let me know how you got along and how long it took you to heal completely. Thanks! Sheila

    Like

    1. My early healing was rapid but at 8 weeks, it still had a way to go. I walk on it normally and don’t really have any pain. From what I understand it can take a year to completely heal. Good luck with your healing process.

      Like

  2. Mike

    Avulsion or tuberosity fifth metatarsal fracture due to ankle roll. 3 mm of separation but decided on conservative treatment. Four week X-ray show no improvement but also not getting worse. Was not NWB, I put some weight on it thinking it might accelerate healing process.
    Any one in same situation?

    Like

    1. I was NWB for 4 weeks. Healed quite well. 6 weeks later still showed separation with healing in progress. 6 months later I have full use but at times the area I broke hurts especially when I first get up in the morning and put weight on it. Gets better throughout the day.

      Like

  3. Mike

    6 week evaluation shows grey area near fracture which was originally > 3 mm separation. Healing in progress – best news yet. 50% weight bearing and another f/u in two weeks. Their is hope!! Trust it’ll get better everyone!

    Like

Leave a comment